Take Your ACE Score

Look at the following nine categories of abuse/household dysfunction. During the first 18 years of your life, did you experience any of the following or are you currently experiencing one or more of the following?

  1. Recurrent Physical Abuse
  2. Recurrent Emotional Abuse
  3. Sexual Abuse
  4. An Alcohol or Drug Abuser
  5. An Incarcerated Household Member
  6. Chronically Depressed, Suicidal, Institutionalized, or Mentally Ill Parent
  7. Abused Parent
  8. One or No Parents
  9. Emotional or Physical Neglect

Any one of the above 9 items receives a score of one, no matter how many times it occurred. For instance, if you were sexually abused once or many times as a child, your ACE score is one and only one.

If you are concerned with your ACE score, please contact a professional or one of our resources for assistance.